Team Robinson wins 2024 HBCU Legacy Bowl

The best HBCU football players gathered Saturday, Feb. 24th in New Orleans at Yulman Stadium, home to the Tulane Green Wave, to play in the 2024 HBCU Legacy Bowl presented by Allstate and The Black College Football Hall of Fame. 

Team Gaither defeated Team Robinson in a defensive low scoring 10-6 game, in the third- annual game.

Team Gaither, named after legendary Florida A&M football coach Jake Gaither, was coached by Howard University’s Larry Scott, 2023 HBCU Champions,  and Virginia Union University’s Alvin Parker. Players from the CIAA and MEAC made up Team Gaither.

Team Robinson, named after Grambling State’s legendary coach Eddie Robinson, was coached by Benedict College’s Chennis Berry and Prairie View A&M’s Bubba McDowell. Players from the SIAC and SWAC made up Team Robinson.

North Carolina Central quarterback Davius Rrichards was named Offensive MVP. . Richards scored the game’s only touchdown for Team Gaither on a 4-yard  run on the team’s first drive. Richards left the game after the TD after sustaining a right leg injury. 

Richards was also named Black College Football Co-Player of the Year along with  Florida A&M’s quarterback Jeremy Moussa, who played for Team Robinson.

Moussa threw a 28-yard strike touchdown late in the fourth quarter to Grambling University’s Lydon Rash for Team Robinson’s lone score.

Alabama A&M’s Zareon Hayes won defensive MVP after recording four sacks for Team Robinson.

“I’m going to be a dog today, and nobody’s going to stop me when I get on that field,” he told New Orleans Saints reporter Erin Summers. “Some people don’t get this opportunity, and I’m grateful for this opportunity that I had.”

Where the HBCU Culture Resides